Login
About the Course
 
 
Continuing Education and Workshops

Distance Education -> Florida Massage Continuing Education Requirements -> Chapter: 02

Specific Florida CE Requirements

 


LO4: What (specifically) is a Florida LMT required to do in order to keep her/his Florida Massage License current?

All Florida LMTs are required to renew their licenses every two years, in order to practice massage therapy legally. It is the therapist’s responsibility to fill out the Florida Board licensure renewal form and pay the appropriate fee before the end of the renewal period. On the renewal form, you will verify your current address, and you will verify that you have met the Florida Board Continuing Education requirements for the current CE period.
 

LO5: What are the “from-to” dates of the current Florida LMT CE period?

 The CE periods run every two years, and each CE period ends on August 31 of each odd-numbered year. For a course to count toward the 2005-2007 CEU period, you will have to document that the education took place between September 1, 2005 and August 31, 2007.
 
                                                   9-1-05                               24 months                                 8-31-07
                                   *>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>*
 

LO6: What are the actual CE requirements for Florida LMTs?

The CE requirements for the Florida Board are simple. Each Florida LMT is required to complete 24 hours of CE (plus an approved HIV/AIDS course) during each CE period. This amounts to 1 hour of CE per month. Florida law also requires that, of the 24 CE hours:

*12 hours must be relevant to massage.  This means that the course must focus on massage therapy techniques, which may include the history of massage, human anatomy & physiology, kinesiology and/or pathology.

  • A minimum of 2 hours must be an approved course on Ethics.
  • A minimum of 2 hours must be an approved course on Medical Errors.
  • A minimum of 2 hours must be an approved course on Florida Law and Rules.

Note: The exception to the rule happens when a new LMT receives her/his licensure during a CE period. In this case, the new LMT is required to complete 1 hour of CE for each remaining month in the CE period. In other words, it’s pro-rated. The new LMT is not required to take an Ethics course or a Law course, but, s/he is required to complete an AIDS course and 2 contact hours of Medical Errors.

  

Here’s how it works if you are a NEW LMT, who became licensed during this (2005-2007) CE period.


  1. You need to take an approved AIDS course, above and beyond your CE requirement.
  2. You need to take an approved Medical Errors course (minimum 2 contact hours).
  3. You need to take one contact hour of approved CE for each month (or partial month) between your licensure date and September 1, 2007, as noted below:
Licensure date
 Contact hrs
Licensure date
 Contact hrs
September 2005
24
September, 2006 
12
October, 2005
23
October, 2006 
11
November, 2005 
22
November, 2006 
10
December, 2005 
21
December, 2006 
9
January 2006
20
January 2007
8
February, 2006 
19
February, 2007 
7

March, 2006 

18
March, 2007 
6
April, 2006 
17
April, 2007 
5
May, 2006 
16
May, 2007 
4
June, 2006 
15
June, 2007 
3
July, 2006 
14
July, 2007 
2
August, 2006 
13
August 2007
1
                       
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 









You may be asking, “if I need less than 24 contact hours, how many of those need to be relevant to massage?”

Currently the Florida Law does not discuss how many contact hours have to be “relevant to massage” if a new therapist needs less than 24 CE. When I called to the Florida Board today, their representative said this:

  • “If you need more than 12 contact hours, take the 2 contact hours of medical errors, and the rest of the hours need to be relevant to massage. Plus the AIDS course.
  • “If you need less than 12 contact hours, take the 2 contact hours of medical errors, and the rest need to be Board approved contact hours. Plus the AIDS course.”  

To be safe, if I were a new LMT, and if I needed less than 24 contact hours, I’d make sure that I took at least 12 that were “relevant” to massage.   If I needed less than 12 contact hours,  I’d make sure that they were all relevant to massage. –Leonard P. Martineau

Remember that “relevant” means: “the course must focus on massage therapy techniques, which may include the history of massage, human anatomy & physiology, kinesiology and/or pathology.”

 

LO7: Regarding Florida CE requirements, what does “approved course” mean, and how do I know if a course is approved?

 

“Approved course” means “approved by the Florida Board of Massage.

 

Approved CE providers in the State of Florida should designate, on their workshop advertisements, that the course is approved. In addition, your certificate of completion will document the number of hours approved for training along with the provider number (see Figure 2-1, below): 

 

Below is an example of a certificate of attendance/completion:




Figure 2-1: Sample Certificate of Completion

Certificate of Completion
CORE Institute

School of Massage Therapy and Structural Bodywork

223 W. Carolina Street, Tallahassee, FL: 32301

850-222-8673; 850-561-6160 (fax)

 

Name of participant: Susan Massage Therapist

License/registration/NCBTMB number: MA 0074xx

Workshop Title: Ethics - Professional Massage and Client Therapist Relationships

Workshop presenter: Leonard P. Martineau, PhD, LMT, NCTMB

Date of workshop: 3-17-06

Workshop location: 223 W. Carolina St., Tallahassee, FL 32303

Workshop type: Computer Based

Total contact hours: 2
Florida
Board of Massage Therapy Provider Number: MCE-4-xx-xxxx

NCBTMB Provider Number
: 009-xxx-xx
 
 
_____________________________ 

Leonard P. Martineau, PhD, LMT, NCTMB

                                   

 
 
_____________________________

Phil Arcuri, BS, LMT, NCTMB

 

Note the date, the number of contact hours approved, and the provider numbers on your certificate.

 

Note: On the web, you can find information relative to CE requirements at:

 

 http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/massage/ma_ceu.html

 

Or, just get online, and search the keywords “Florida,” “Board,” and “Massage,” and you will get to a web page that will allow you search for Florida Board of Massage Therapy Continuing Education information.

 

Practice Test Questions:

        4. What (specifically) is a Florida LMT required to do in order to keep her/his Florida Massage License current? Check all that apply:


      _____ Fill out the Florida Board licensure renewal form
_____ Pay the appropriate fee
_____ Verify current addres
_____ Verify that current CE requirements have been met
_____ Verify current National Certification


5. What are the “from-to” dates of the current Florida LMT Continuing Education (CE) period? Fill-in the blanks. 


        From September ___ through August ____, every ____  years, on the ____ year.
 

        6. What are the actual CE requirements for Florida LMTs? Check all that apply:

____ Complete 24 hours of CE during the CE period

____ All 24 contact hours must be relevant to massage

____ A Medical Errors course is required

____ An AIDS course is required

____ An Ethics course is required

____ A Law course is required

____ An NCBTMB recertification course is required


        7. Regarding Florida CE requirements, what is true about an  “approved” course? Check all that apply:

_____ The course will not have a provider number

_____ The course must be less than 24 contact hours long

_____ The course must be “approved” by the Florida Board

_____ The course must be “approved” by the International Symposium for Massage

 


<– PREVIOUS CHAPTER | CHAPTER 02 | NEXT CHAPTER –>
© Copyright 2006-2009, Core Institute.com. All rights reserved under law.